Item 3



For Action

Presentation to 2019 Retiring Members of the Advisory Committee on Accessible Transit (ACAT)

Date: December 12, 2019To: TTC BoardFrom: Deputy Chief Executive Officer – Operations

Summary

Members of ACAT are appointed for up to a three-year term and one-third of the members are replaced each year.

Every year, the Board acknowledges the contributions of the five retiring ACAT members by presenting them with an in-appreciation plaque and certificate.

Recommendation

It is recommended that:

1. The TTC Chair present the retiring ACAT members with plaques and certificates indicating that they will receive a transit pass for the equivalent number of terms served, in recognition of their contribution.

Financial Summary

This report has no financial impact beyond what has been approved in the Wheel-Trans Operating Budget.

Equity/Accessibility Matters

ACAT is comprised of 15 members, of which at least eight must meet the definition of disability under the Ontario Human Rights Code. Several kinds of disabilities may be represented by these persons, including, but not limited to: physical or mobility, visual, hearing, communication, learning, mental health (psychological/psychiatric) and intellectual/developmental disabilities. In addition, the Committee also seeks representation from the seniors' community and advocates for persons with disabilities or who have demonstrated knowledge of, and interest in, accessible transit issues.

Contact

Lodon Hassan, Assistant Manager – Customer Service, Wheel-Trans 416-393-6732 Iodon.hassan@ttc.ca

Dwayne Geddes, Head of Wheel-Trans 416-393-3095 <u>dwayne.geddes@ttc.ca</u>

Signature

Kirsten Watson Deputy Chief Executive Officer – Operations

Attachment

Attachment 1 – 2019 Retiring ACAT Members

Attachment 1

RETIRING MEMBERS (January 1, 2017 to December 31, 2019)

- Mary Burton
 Craig Nicol
 Angela Rebeiro
- 4. Thomas Richardson
- 5. Lauri Sue Robertson